top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlburrows_Design/Maker

Have a Design Direction, but no design identity logo to show? No problem! Here's what you can do....

An artistic logo doesn't have to be complicated! it can be as simple as having your name neatly written with an image of your own, or even just the name which is beautifully written in a form of calligraphy, or, blocks writing. Not only do you think about the writing and design around the calligraphy, but, the colour scheme of the logo. For myself, it took me a while to figure out the colour scheme and text that'll relate to my current practice and design identity.


This is an example of the different text fonts I had tried, I decided to try and change the way maker is spelled to be different from other designer-makers. By simply changing one letter around it gives a defined difference but that is just my own personal preference. Your design idea for the text can be completely different! However, you think your name should be presented you go for it!.


These were the chosen two colorways that I found blended well within my own design direction. The pastel colors I found blended well with the recent colour trends of spring-summer 2020/2021. Even so, it didn't fit with my constant colourway that seems to always appear within my work, having the darker bolder colours I find makes my work stand out, not just with dark colours! There is a mixture of lighter but they take a back seat as it were to the darker colours.


Your own colourways may be different! feel free to use the ones I have provided within the example, although I do encourage you sus out your designs and see what colours represent yourself as a designer/ artist!



With the lighter colourway, it inspired me to produce a mimic of paint spots, which hold the 2020/2021 colourway. I found this to not represent myself as a designer since these don't represent my own materiality. When I see these colours I think of cloth and fabric, which is the opposite of my own designer materiality.

With this Logo design, however, I found this really displayed myself as a designer and showed the dynamics of my materiality and the way in which the simplistic forms give the logo a dynamic background. This logo reminds me of the materiality concerning Acrylic, Glass, Enamel and wire, which, are the materials I use within my design practice.


There you have it! some little tips and ideas on how to make a logo. that suits your own personal gain be it in a design context or other!

11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page