top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharlburrows_Design/Maker

Artist Inspiration of the day.......Julia Griffiths Jones!

Julia Griffiths Jones is a designer/ Maker who uses the medium of wire and enamel to represent her style of work. Through the mixture of different materials, plus screen imagery shows the immense talent and skill that Julia brings through her work.

Below is a imager from London Collect 2020, where she exhibited her most recent work, which is displayed below. It is stated in an interview with Griffiths jones that she:


'became fascinated by pieced and embroidered fabric dowry sacks used by the nomadic Rabari tribe to transport their possessions on their camels. My interpretations are large metal tassels welded into the seams of brightly coloured metal sacks, which are full of wire and enamel utensils.' (Baker, 2020).


You can really see the relation through her own research within the materials and even the colours. the colours and vibrant and bold making it clear and crisp. In addition the different variation of line thickness and patterns show depth and variation making the design complex.


This design inspired my choice to experiment with wire drawing and different colour experimentation. Below is an example of my own work:


This is an example of my wire colour experimentation.


This is my personal response to Julia's design piece from Collect 2020. By combining the different wire and coloured paper below it adds depth and artistic difference and response to the original inspired piece. This has helped me develop my direction for my Final Major Project being made at home due to the recent pandemic but this hasn't stopped me from creating and thinking big!

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page